Twitter Facebook Flickr Youtube RSS Share

The Trusteeship Council

The Trusteeship Council consists of five permanent members from the Security Council: China, the United States, the Russian Federation, France and the United Kingdom. After the last territory under United Nations trusteeship, the Pacific Island of Palau, became independent on 1 November 1994, the Trusteeship Council officially suspended its activities. _

In accordance with the Charter, the Trusteeship Council was authorized to review the Administrating Authority’s reports on the political, economic and social progress made by the inhabitants of the territories under trusteeship, as well as their petitions, and to send special missions to these territories.

By 1994, all territories under trusteeship had gained independence, either by becoming independent States unto themselves, or by merging with neighbouring States. The last territory to gain its autonomy was Palau, which then became the 185th Member State of the United Nations. As its mission was duly accomplished, the Trusteeship Council changed its Rules of Procedure and now only meets when and where warranted. The Council is currently made up of the same five permanent Security Council Members listed above.

On 22 October 2009, Mr Nicolas de Rivière, Deputy Permanent Representative of France at the United Nations, was elected as President of the Trusteeship Council, succeeding to Mr Jean-Pierre Lacroix who had been President since 7 November 2008.

The Trusteeship Council/ UN Photo/Andrea Brizzi

Useful links

- Link to the Trusteeship Council website

Bookmark and Share
Bookmark and Share
Organisation des Nations Unies Présidence de la République France Diplomatie La France à l'Office des Nations Unies à Genève Union Européenne Première réunion de l'ONU